logo

\ IN THE CITY

APRIL 25-29, 2020

On the trail of time. Step into time and explore Geneva’s watchmaking past and present. A unique adventure to experience solo, as a family or with friends, thanks to a lively, immersive, city-wide circuit.

Geneva, the place to be

Watchmaking isn’t one profession but many, all part of Geneva’s history and central to the fabric of the city. They form a living culture in constant evolution; a world where new things happen every day.

At the same time as “In the City”, Watches & Wonders Geneva hosts the Salon, the foremost international gathering for the watchmaking profession, where each year thirty-plus exhibitors reveal their latest creations to trade and media guests from around the world. This exciting week confirms Geneva as the go-to destination for every watch enthusiast.

Inside watchmaking

Are you passionate about watchmaking? Are you fascinated by its history and professions? “In the City” is the first event that puts the public at the heart of time measurement, its values and expertise.

Organised with the active support of the City and the Canton of Geneva, in partnership with the leading names in the sector, this is a rare opportunity to get closer to this uniquely special world. Broaden your understanding of watchmaking, further your passion or find a vocation – at the heart of the city where watchmaking excellence has its home.

Activities for everyone

How does a mechanical movement work? What goes on inside a manufacture? What role do artisans play and what background do they have?

Whether you’re new to watches or already a connoisseur, whether you’re fascinated by mechanisms or enjoy sifting through archives, “In the City” brings watchmaking to life through a packed programme of festivities, with free activities and experiences to please all ages and centres of interest. Held at venues across the city, including museums, schools, manufactures and boutiques, they celebrate, each in their own way, the art of time measurement.

  • A full programme of conferences and workshops for hands-on initiations to watchmaking
  • Themed walks around the city
  • Workbench demonstrations by watchmakers, engravers, enamellers, stone-setters and other skilled artisans
  • Exhibitions for a full immersion into the history and culture of watchmaking
  • Guided tours of manufactures (reservation required)
  • Presentations in brand boutiques of exceptional watches and unique pieces
  • Fun workshops for kids
  • And many other experiences…

The Salon

From April 25th to 29th, professionals and journalists from around the globe will meet in Geneva for a world-first preview of the watches that will define the year’s major trends. What if you were one of them?

More info

SIHH History

The milestones in the history of SIHH.

More info

Videos & pictures

Relive some of the outstanding moments at SIHH.

More info

logo

\ IN THE CITY

25 – 29 AVRIL 2020

Une semaine à la découverte de l’horlogerie ! Traversez les portes du temps lors d’une balade inédite au cœur de la Genève horlogère. Une expérience unique à vivre en solo, en famille ou entre amis au fil d’un parcours vivant, immersif et varié.

Genève, une destination horlogère incontournable

Les métiers de l’horlogerie occupent une position centrale dans l’histoire de Genève. Ils constituent une culture vivante, en perpétuelle évolution, un univers riche et varié qui s’illustre à travers une actualité foisonnante.

En parallèle de « In the City », Watches & Wonders Geneva accueille Le Salon, le rendez-vous international majeur de la profession horlogère, où plus d’une trentaine de maisons exposantes dévoilent chaque année leurs nouvelles collections aux professionnels et à la presse du monde entier. Une semaine effervescente qui renforce la position de Genève en tant que destination horlogère incontournable.

L’horlogerie de l’autre côté du miroir

L’horlogerie vous passionne ? Ses métiers et son histoire vous intriguent ? « In the City » est le premier grand événement horloger destiné au public autour des savoir-faire et des valeurs de l’art de la mesure du temps.

Organisé avec le soutien actif de la Ville et du Canton de Genève, en partenariat avec les grands acteurs de l’horlogerie, ce rendez-vous inédit vous invite à plonger dans les richesses de cet univers d’exception. Une occasion fantastique d’élargir ses connaissances, de cultiver sa passion ou de se découvrir une vocation, au cœur même du berceau de l’horlogerie d’excellence.

Des activités pour tous

Comment fonctionne un mouvement mécanique ? Qu’est ce qui se cache derrière les murs d’une manufacture horlogère ? Comment les artisans travaillent-ils ? Quelle est leur histoire ?

Que l’on soit novice ou averti, amateur de technique ou plutôt passionné d’archives, « In the City » propose de vivre l’expérience horlogère à travers une palette d’activités et d’animations gratuites conçues pour tous les âges et toutes les envies. Réparties dans divers lieux de la ville – musées, écoles, manufactures, boutiques – ces activités thématiques célèbrent, chacune à leur manière, l’art de la mesure du temps. Le rythme des festivités s’annonce cadencé, riche et particulièrement intense.

  • Un programme varié de conférences et d’ateliers pratiques pour s’initier à l’horlogerie
  • Des parcours thématiques dans la ville
  • Des démonstrations de savoir-faire par des artisans horlogers, graveurs, émailleurs, sertisseurs…
  • Des expositions pour s’immerger dans l’histoire et la connaissance horlogère
  • Des visites guidées de manufactures (sur réservation)
  • Des animations, présentations de pièces exceptionnelles ou uniques dans les boutiques des marques horlogères
  • Des ateliers ludiques pour les plus jeunes
  • Et bien d’autres expériences

Le Salon

Du 25 au 29 avril, les professionnels et les journalistes du monde entier ont rendez-vous à Genève pour découvrir en exclusivité mondiale les nouveautés horlogères qui dessineront les grandes tendances de l’année. Et si vous faisiez partie des happy few ?

En savoir plus

Histoire du SIHH

Focus sur les événements qui ont marqué l'histoire du SIHH.

En savoir plus

Vidéos & photos

Revivez les meilleurs moments du SIHH.

En savoir plus